XUP USB-JTAG Programmer

kursatgol

Question

Hi All,

Is there anybody have any experience about XUP (Xilinx University Program) USB-JTAG Programmer Revision-G using with Vivado 2015 or 2018? I have some little experience with Vivado 2015.5 and 2018.1 but regarding my experiences XUP USB-JTAG Programmer is not compatible with Vivado? I tried all ways on Centos-7 OS and the particular script (install_drivers.tar.gz). I aimed to program the Zedboard for petalinux applications developing but no success with XUP USB-JTAG Rev.G and Vivado running on Centos-7. Could you please share any suggestions if you have?

Regards.

Kursat Gol

xup_problem.png

Hi @Edwardz,

I checked back email chain with the previously mentioned engineer and found that the Xilinx install script does not work correctly. This is for Vivado 2017.4, but presuming 2018.2 is set up similarlly, I would try the following (quoted from the engineer in question):

"I just spent some time fiddling around on Windows 10 and finally managed to get it working with Vivado 2017.4. The install script that Xilinx runs as part of cable driver installation does NOT work correctly. Initially the XUP USB JTAG cable would show up in the device manager under "Programming cables" as a "Xilinx Embedded Platform USB Firmware Loader" and would not be found by the Vivado Hardware Manager. I had to right click on “Xilinx Embedded Platform USB Firmware Loader” in the device manager and click “Uinstall”. When the uninstall dialog popped up I checked the box the box that says “Delete the driver software for this device.” And then click ok. Once driver uinstall completed I disconnected the programming cable. I then launched a command prompt in administrator mode and navigated to "C:\Xilinx\Vivado\2017.4\data\xicom\cable_drivers\nt64\dlc10_win7". Once in this directory I ran the following 4 commands:

wdreg -compat -inf %cd%\windrvr6.inf uninstall
wdreg -compat -inf %cd%\xusbdrvr.inf uninstall